Moments of Why - Communion Bread
November 18, 2018, 3:44 PM

“Why different bread for Communion? Why not both kinds?”

 

There are many people who are allergic to or intolerant of gluten, which is a composite of proteins commonly found in wheat and, therefore, bread. The type of bread you might buy in the store and the type most often used previously by this church contained gluten. When people with a gluten intolerance eat bread made with wheat it goes beyond the idea that they just don’t like it; it often causes illness and pain.

Using regular bread of any kind for Communion means that some people can’t take part in the celebration.

We have switched to using gluten-free bread, something Peggy bakes every month for Communion. If you have a gluten intolerance you can eat the bread, and if you don’t have a gluten intolerance you can eat the bread.

We don’t offer both types of bread because we don’t want people with a gluten intolerance to feel singled out. When we take Communion you are only receiving a small piece of bread and we are not eating it for its flavor, but as a reminder of Christ’s sacrifice.

However, Peggy is working on different recipes to find a bread everyone will like.